top of page

Artist Research - Clare Woods

The basis of Woods practice is sculpting an image with paint and expressing the strangeness of an object, this is how I connected with her work. I want to show the strange and unconventional but in a way that they distract the viewer from life. Wood’s interests have moved to a fascination with subconscious expressions of anxiety and explorations of the figure and human head, often in a state of psychological tension. The unconscious is a very important aspect of my practice, as I believe this is where my imagery bank is. When I create a new character, for the most part, I don’t think about it, if I think too hard, no imagery appears. The imagery I use comes from things I’ve seen or heard; therefore it will be relevant to contemporary culture.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page