top of page

Artist Research - Margaret Keane

Keane was key in starting the ‘big-eyes’ movement in the early 60’s, influencing society thereafter. I realised my work has a similar characteristic to Keane’s, the focal point is the eyes.

To me, because they are painted and you can see the textures, it gives the work more emotive power. When comparing my canvas painting to the drawings and screen prints I have done, the drawings give out this superflat aesthetic. Whereas with my painting, I think the marks and quality of the oil paint brings out another side to the character, more emotive, especially with the addition of the large eyes.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page